English | Español

Try our Free Online Math Solver!

Online Math Solver

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Please use this form if you would like
to have this math solver on your website,
free of charge.


Course Syllabus for Mathematics

Prerequisite: Math 0200 with a grade of C or better, a required score on the math
assessment test, or equivalent.

Course Description: Math 0210 Mathematics II prepares students to take any math course numbered above
1000. It is a review and continuation of Math 0200 Mathematics I. Topics include a study of polynomial,
linear, rational, exponential, and logarithmic functions; exponents and radical expressions; solutions of linear ,
quadratic, rational, exponential and radical equations; inequalities and systems of linear equations and
inequalities
; elementary probability and statistics; properties of circles; solid geometric shapes; area;
volume; and an introduction to trigonometry.

Instructional Format: Lecture presentations, dialogue, and discussions with question and answer sessions.

Learner Outcomes: At the conclusion of this course the student should be able to:
A) Perform basic operations on real and complex numbers.
B) Perform basic operations on polynomial and rational expressions and express the answer in simplified
form while using proper spelling and grammar.
C) Identify a function and its domain and range.
D) Evaluate expressions involving functional notation.
E) Graph linear functions.
F) Write the equation of a line satisfying given conditions involving ordered pairs and/or slopes.
G) Solve linear equations , absolute value equations, and rational equations.
H) Solve quadratic equations using factoring, formula, square root method, or completing the square.
I) Graph a quadratic function, identifying the line of symmetry, vertex , and x-intercepts.
J) Solve radical equations.
K) Solve a system of linear equations by substitution, elimination, and graphing.
L) Graph simple exponential functions of the form f(x) = aX.
M) Solve simple exponential equations.
N) Translate applied problems in one-two variables and provide a solution through algebraic manipulation .
O) Simplify expressions containing radicals or rational exponents.
P) Graph simple cubic and square root functions.
Q) Utilize the Pythagorean Theorem in problem solving.
R) Solve systems of linear inequalities in two variables and solve systems of linear inequal. By graphing.
S) Solve quadratic and absolute value inequalities.
T) Combine simple functions using composition.
U) Given a simple one-to-one function, find and graph its corresponding inverse function.
V) Graph simple logarithmic functions and solve simple logarithmic equations.
W) Use a calculator to perform basic operations and find powers, roots, and logarithmic values.
X) Solve quadratic equations that have complex roots.
Y) Solve problems involving simple probability.
Z) Utilize the properties of the circle and formulas for its circumference and area in problem solving.
AA) Identify a prism, pyramid, cylinder, cone, and sphere and be able to find the surface area and
volume of each.
BB) Utilize simple right triangle trigonometry (sine, cosine, and tangent) in problem solving.
CC) Utilize the properties of special right triangles in problem solving.
DD) Learn how to spell mathematically-related words and other words used in context.
EE) Learn how to use mathematical symbols and notation correctly and write complete sentences.

PLEASE… TURN OFF ALL PHONES and PAGERS DURING CLASS TIME!

MATH 0210.90 Spring, 2009 Course Content (TENTATIVE - Subject to Change):

Monday, January 12 Course Policies, 1.1 The Language of Algebra
Tuesday, January 13 1.2 The Real Numbers, 1.3 Operations with Real Numbers
Wednesday, January 14 1.4, Simplifying Algebraic Expressions
Thursday, January 1.5 Solving Linear Equations Using Properties of Equality
   
Monday, January 19 NO CLASS – DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. DAY
Tuesday, January 20 1.6 Solving Formulas: Geometry
Wednesday, January 21 1.7 Using Equations to Solve Problems
Thursday, January 1.8 More About Problem Solving, 2.1 The Rectangular Coordinate System
   
Monday, January 26 2.2 Graphing Linear Equations in Two Variables, 2.3 Rate of Change and Slope
Tuesday, January 27 2.4 Writing Equations of Lines
Wednesday, January 28 2.5 An Introduction to Functions
Thursday, January 2.6 Graphs of Functions, 3.1 Solving Systems of Equations by Graphing
   
Monday, February 2 Unit 1 Segments/Angles within Circles and Unit 2 Lines/Angles rel. to Circles
Tuesday, February 3 BONUS QUIZ on Chapters 1-2 + Units 1 and 2
Wednesday, February 4 TEST on Chapters 1-2 + Unit 1 and Unit 2 (100 points)
Thursday, February 3.2 Solving Systems of Equations Algebraically,
3.3 Problem Solving Using Systems of Two Equations
   
Monday, February 9 3.4 Solving Systems of Equations in Three Variables
Tuesday, February 10 3.5 Problem Solving Using Systems of Three Equations
Wednesday, February 11 3.6 Solving Systems of Equations Using Matrices
Thursday, February 3.7 Solving Systems of Equations Using Determinants
   
Monday, February 16 NO CLASS – PRESIDENTS’ DAY HOLIDAY
Tuesday, February 17 4.1 Solving Linear Inequalities in One Variable,
  4.2 Solving Compound Inequalities
Wednesday, February 18 4.3 Solving Absolute Value Equations and Inequalities
Thursday, February 4.4 Linear Inequalities in Two Variables, 4.5 Systems of Linear Inequalities
   
Monday, February 23 Unit 3 Right Prisms and Cylinders + Unit 4 Pyramids and Cones
Tuesday, February 24 Review of Chap 3-4 and BONUS QUIZ on Chapters 3-4 + Units 3 & 4
Wednesday, February 25 TEST on Chapters 3-4 + Unit 3 and Unit 4 (100 points)
Thursday, February 5.1 Exponents
   
Monday, March 2 5.2 Scientific Notation, 5.3 Polynomials and Polynomial Functions
Tuesday, March 3 5.4 Multiplying Polynomials
Wednesday, March 4 5.5 The GCF and Factoring by Grouping
Thursday, March 5.6 Factoring Polynomials
   
Monday, March 9 5.7 The Difference of Two Squares and
Tuesday, March 10 5.7 The Sum and Difference of Two Cubes
Wednesday, March 11 5.8 Summary of Factoring Techniques, 5.9 Solving Equations by Factoring
Thursday, March Unit 5 Spheres and Composite Fig. and Unit 6 Applying Right Triangles

 

MATH 0210.90 [5:00] Spring, 2009 Course Content (TENTATIVE - Subject to Change):

Monday, March 16 NO CLASS – SPRING BREAK
Tuesday, March 17 NO CLASS – SPRING BREAK
Wednesday, March 18 NO CLASS – SPRING BREAK
Thursday, March 19 NO CLASS – SPRING BREAK
   
Monday, March 23 6.1 Rational Functions and Simplifying Rational Expressions
Tuesday, March 24 6.2 Multiplying and Dividing Rational Expressions
Wednesday, March 25 6.3 Adding and Subtracting Rational Expressions
Thursday, March 6.4 Simplify Complex Fractions ,
   
Monday, March 30 6.5 Dividing Polynomials, [OMIT 6.6 Synthetic Division]
Tuesday, March 31 6.7 Solving Rational Equations, 6.8 Problems Solving Using Rational Equations
Wednesday, April 1 6.9 Proportion and Variation + Start Unit 7 Trigonometry
Thursday, April Unit 7 More Right Triangle Trigonometry SOH -CAH-TOA
   
Monday, April 6 Review of Chap 5-6 OR Bonus Quiz on Chapters 5-6 + Units 5-6
Tuesday, April 7 TEST on Chapters 5-6 + Units 5-6 (100 points)
Wednesday, April 8 7.1 Radical Expressions and Radical Functions, 7.2 Rational Exponents
Thursday, April 7.3 Simplifying and Combining Radical Expressions,
7.4 Multiplying and Dividing Radical Expressions BEGIN FX PREPARATION!
   
Monday, April 13 7.5 Solving Radical Equations, 7.6 Geometric Applications of Radicals
Tuesday, April 14 7.7 Complex Numbers
Wednesday, April 15 8.1 The Square Root Property + Completing the Square
Thursday, April 8.2 The Quadratic Formula...THIS IS TO BE MEMORIZED BY EVERYONE!
8.3 The Discriminant and Equations That Can Be Written In Quadratic Form
   
Monday, April 20 8.4 Quadratic Functions and Their Graphs,
Tuesday, April 21 8.5 Quadratic and Other Nonlinear Inequalities
Wednesday, April 22 Review of Chap 7-8 and Unit 7 TEST OR Bonus Quiz on Chapters 7-8 + Unit 7
  ============================> [Note: Last Day to Withdraw is 4/23/09]
Thursday, April TEST on Chapters 7-8 + Unit 7 (100 points)
   
Monday, April 27 9.1 Algebra and Composition Functions
Tuesday, April 28 9.2 Inverse Functions
Wednesday, April 29 9.3 Exponential Functions
Thursday, April 9.4 Base-e Exponential Functions
   
Monday, May 4 9.5 Logarithmic Functions, 9.6 Base-e Logarithmic Functions
Tuesday, May 5 9.7 Properties of Logarithms
Wednesday, May 6 9.8 Exponential and Logarithmic Equations
Thursday, May FINAL EXAM REVIEW CONCEPTS AND SUGGESTIONS

Monday, May 11 CUMULATIVE FINAL EXAM (200 POINTS)

Student Evaluation System:
You will be expected to pre-read the textbook sections prior to class. Every other odd-numbered exercise
plus any others that may be required to achieve mastery should be completed as homework. If you choose
to be graded on a P/NC basis (P = 70+%), you need to notify me in writing no later than our third class
session (January 14th).

ABSOLUTELY NO MAKEUP tests will be given unless prearranged.
ANY CHEATING will result in a course grade of NC.

Bonus points will awarded on bonus quizzes ONLY during the class in which they are offered –
NO MAKE-UP QUIZZES. Your grade will be based on your test/quiz score performance using

the percentages as follows:

Participation 100 points  
Test on Chapters 1-2 100 points 90% or more => A
Test on Chapters 3-4 100 points 80 – 89% => B
Test on Chapters 5-6 100 points 70-79% => C
Test on Chapters 7-8 100 points 60-69% => D
FINAL EXAM 200 points < 60% => NC
Total 700 points + MANY other points for misc. quizzes, WebAssingn, and projects.

Attendance Policy:
Poor course performance has been linked to poor class attendance. Thus it is of utmost importance that you
make every effort to attend every class to ensure that you will fully understand all concepts as they are
explained. It is quite evident that I cannot possibly provide you with quality instruction if you are not
present.

Accomodations for Students with Special Needs:
Anoka Ramsey Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender,
sexual orientation, religion, age or disability in employment or in the provision of our services. Within the
first week of class, students with special needs that require accommodations should contact the Director of
Access Services at (763) 422-3459 to discuss possible support services. Extra help is available from the
Math Skills and Advising Center in L122 and also from the Academic Support Center.

Course Materials:

Textbooks:
Intermediate Algebra 4th Edition by Tussy and Gustafson, 2009 AND
Connecting Geometry, 3rd Edition by Barbara Brown

Optional:
Textbook Supplement: Student’s Solution Manual (Optional, but highly recommended.)

Supplies:
A graphing calculator (TI-83+ or TI-84+ or TI-84+ Silver Edition, TI-Nspire
or equivalent), notebook, pencil, paper, 6”-12” ruler , protractor, and graph paper.

5-PART RECIPE FOR SUCCESS: REMEMBER TO USE
1] Attend All Classes (1) Auditory Learning
2] Take Notes (2) Visual Learning
3] Complete the Homework (3) Kinesthetic Learning
4] Study for Tests and Quizzes  
5] Ask Questions Early  

EFFORT = RESULTS Roger Penske, CE0

Prev Next